Musical collaboration with Stephen & Shannon O’Bent

I just got this video from Stephen O’Bent, composer, musician, and juggler extraordinaire. Last fall he asked me if I’d be interested in writing a text he might use to compose a piece for his Master’s Recital at UW. He wondered if the text could be “rhymey and pop musicky” with a theme of roads and transition. Also, because of his composing class, he was excited about the idea of listening and hearing on multiple levels. What luck! I am always excited about hearing things on multiple levels, I was experimenting with sonnets last fall (rhymey–check!), and I write about transition and liminal spaces almost all the time. So. Here are the fruits of our labor. Well, mostly Stephen and Shannon’s:

Leave a Reply

